About Toledo

Although you will not be joining us in person in Toledo, we hope you will be able to learn a little bit abut our wonderful city and beautiful campus. Here you can find information about the city of Toledo, and our University's history and where we are today. 

The City

Founded on the bank of the Maumee River in 1833, Toledo is Ohio's fourth-most populous city. Initially a part of the Michigan Territory, Toledo was re-founded after the Toledo War in 1937 and became a part of Ohio. Toledo became a fast growing city due to its location on a key railway line and proximity to Ohio's canal system. In the 1880's, Toledo gained its nickname, "The Glass City", after glass manufacturers made their way to the city.
Today, Toledo is home to the headquarters of several Fortune 500 companies, and features several top ranked attractions at the state and national level. Toledo is a revitalized city for industry, the arts, and outdoor activities. From theater performances, to baseball and hockey, and to amazing restaurants, the city of Toledo has something for everyone to enjoy.
Some great places to go in Toledo while visiting are: Imagination Station, The Toledo Museum of Art, National Museum of the Great Lakes, Fifth and Third Field (Home of the Mud Hens), the Huntington Center (Home of the Walleyes), the Toledo Zoo, the Toledo Botanical Garden, and so much more! There are also many Metroparks with tons of trails to explore, including the University/Parks Trail that goes right through the University of Toledo's campus!

The Campus

in 1872, Toledo University of Arts and Trades was founded by Jesup Wakeman Scott. Scott had a vision for a university to allow young people to be educated to benefit the growing city.  The University opened in an unfinished church basement, and due to a lack of funds, it had to close in 1878. In 1884, the University's assets were used by the city of Toledo to form the Toledo Manual Training School, with the intention of teaching Practical Arts and Trades.
In 1914 the University decided to focus on becoming a baccalaureate degree-granting institution. It was renamed Toledo University, and moved its main campus to it's current location on Bancroft Street in 1928. The first building was University Hall, which features the University's iconic bell tower, and was completed in 1931. In 1967 the University became a state-funded university, and was renamed to The University of Toledo. The University now has 8 different colleges,  a diverse population of over 20,000 students from 42 states and 84 countries, and over 400 student organizations.
The University of Toledo has grown into a strong institution dedicated to its mission of improving the human condition and advancing knowledge. It has nationally-ranked programs in business, law, engineering, and occupational therapy, and is ranked in the Top 100 public Universities.